//
you're reading...
About Joyce, Photography, some thoughts ...

New Endeavor: Conceptual Photography

miu-vermilion_tangled-part2_small

Photographed and styled by Miu Vermillion
PVC top and skirt by Artifice Clothing
Silk Bouquet by Hapitat

To some degree, people are anchored to their past.
But, we should never let our past to define our future.
It won’t be easy.
Old habits, uncertainty, fear of the unknown . . .
But, the struggle forward is worth the effort.

miu-vermillion-square-tangled_small

Many people might say
“What the heck?!”
“You are a designer . . . you make jewelry and headpieces . . . Okay, sometimes, you make dresses, too . . .  So, stick on making things”
You are lacking stick-to-itiveness. If you keep on doing this, you’ll never succeed in anything
“Jill of all trades, master of none”
(o
r something similar)

Well, yes  . . . I make things . . . And I will keep on making things.

I will never stop creating demi-couture jewelry, headpieces, and dresses . . . But, from now on, I will make conceptual photographs as well.

I won’t be taking clients. Not anytime soon, if ever. Because, I want to focus on creating images I like, and to tell stories through those images.

angelica brigade

Many people don’t this, but I went to college as a Transmedia Art Major. I took photography and image editing classes . . . and, even after I graduated from college, I took a lot of dark, conceptual self-portraits. Not because I love myself so much, but because I had a hectic schedule (so, the only time I could shoot the photos are sometime after midnight).

So, I’m not a complete novice. A bit rusty, perhaps, but not a total noob. But, with a bit of practice, I’ll get the hang of it (again).

angelicabrigade 005

In order not to confuse anyone . . . and because my conceptual photography projects don’t always intersect with my demi-couture designs, I decided to keep them separate. For my photography projects, I will go by Miu Vermillion.

It’s early days yet, but here are my new Facebook and Instagram accounts:
http://www.facebook.com/MiuVermillion
http://www.instagram.com/MiuVermillion

I promise, more than 80% of the contents will not overlap with Angelica Brigade

Right now, there are many things I still need to figure out . . .
But it’s a part of the process, right?

– joyz k / Miu Vermillion

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,498 other followers

