//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

FAILED!!! And learned (a lot) from it

2013-12-05 12.32.29This piece might look alright-enough from afar . . . But if you take a closer look at it, it’s one of the most horrid creations I’ve ever made so far.

angelica brigade angelicabrigadeWhen it was 75% done,  it didn’t look so bad . . .
But, when I finished “drawing the outlines” of the design with beads, I noticed that the piece looks too silver and I should’ve used green & red beads instead. Unfortunately, I’m on the road right now and can’t find 3mm fire polished beads in those colors.

And so, I decided to paint them . . .

Big mistake!!!

Actually, it was worse . . . I made several huge mistakes . . .

I thought that if I cover the yarns with Mod Podge, I can preserve the quality of the yarns for many years to come . . .

But . . . things didn’t work out the way I expected. And when I realized I made several critical mistakes, I tried to salvage the project using several experimental solutions that actually made things even worse.

Look at this barf-inducing outcome:

1463466_10152032804684014_42061914_nDon’t worry … I’ve made a better version of this headband already

But what a disaster . . .

At least, I’ve learned a few valuable lessons from this failed project:

  1. Unless I really have to . . . I should never paint the beads
  2. And if I really must paint the beads . . .  I should’ve painted them before I embroidered the piece
  3. Mod Podge turns the colors of the yarns a few shades darker
  4. I should’ve tested the paint and the Mod Podge on scrap materials first
  5. And, I should’ve made sure no one would touch the piece before the paint completely dry

I’m not great with “wet mediums” (paints, liquid adhesives, and such) . . . I’m being completely honest and realistic here, but years of practice only help me to be less bad at using them . . . So, from now on, unless I really have to . . . I think it’s wiser for me to avoid using unwashable liquid medium . . .

It’s called using one’s resources (especially one’s time) wisely

I’m in the process of creating a better version of the piece. Please check back in Wednesday to download the free pattern and tutorial :)

Till then~

In the meantime, have a fantastic weekend!!!

-joyce

Discussion

2 thoughts on “FAILED!!! And learned (a lot) from it

  1. Been there on many of my projects, but that’s how we learn!

    Posted by jurneyjurray | December 8, 2013, 11:35 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,498 other followers

