//
you're reading...
About Angelica Brigade, Press, Update, Working Process

When Hard Work Pays Off: Featured on Dark Beauty Magazine and the La Carmina blog. Lots of Behind the Scenes Photos.

dark beauty magazine issue 26 angelica brigade jewelry angelicabrigade accessories miu vermillion miuvermillion stylist efrenbeltran photography efren beltran photographer alexisfarmer alexis farmer model namihasegawa hair stylist nami hasegawa yocowakasugi nail art yoco wakasugi joyz katuari creative director joyzkatuari

We are on pp. 76-83 of the magazine and on pp. 24-25 of the free preview
Photographer: Efren Beltran
Stylist: Miu Vermillion (me)
Hair and Makeup: Nami Hasegawa
Nails: Yoco Wakasugi
Model: Alexis Farmer

You can purchase the magazine directly at Dark Beauty Magazine’s website

I’m a big fan of the magazine. It’s filled with inspiring designs and breathtaking photographs.

From time to time, I purchase the printed version of the magazine. But, I prefer its digital version, in my Kindle Fire*. They are as gorgeous, but more portable and less bulky. I can read them anytime and anywhere. Also, while the paper version might get stained or creased, the digital images will look awesome forever.

You can see a free preview of the magazine on issuu.com. If you like what you see, head over to http://bit.ly/DBM_26 to purchase your copy.

dark beauty magazine 2013 cara quici

If you love avant garde fashion you’ll love Dark Beauty Magazine!

~ 0o0 ~

And, so, after a 2-month hiatus, I’m back.
It was the busiest 8 weeks of my life (so far).

I was working 16-hour days arranging 3 different editorial shoots and made a number of silk flowers for La Carmina to wear in another editorial photoshoot.

[Here are some of the flowers I made for her. But, this isn’t the image from the shoot]

la carmina lacarmina angelicabrigade angelica brigade lip service gothic fairy costume lincoln restaurant portland oregon

The rest of the pictures are just as awesome. They are available on the La Carmina blog

For weeks, all I did were creating jewelry, accessories, and dresses (yes, I finally put the things I learned at FIDM to use). And, 2 weeks ago, I injured my hand quite severely. The wound was quite deep and it reopened – twice! – as I continued working.

I guess I have an overworked sense of responsibility . . .

angelicabrigade angelica brigade jewelrymaking method

One of my working methods … I construct some of my jewelry on a mannequin

My principle is: It’s better to be over-prepared than sorry

So, to prepare for the shoot, I tried everything on. Some of the dresses are so tiny but I can slip my head between the dress and a hanger to see how the pieces look together.

I try to imagine how the pieces look on print; and, just to be sure, I even did some test shoots using my iPhone.

look 1

I also made a thick document (in pdf format, no less) filled with:
– the shoot’s “storyline”
– all the pieces I will feature in the shoot (outfit by outfit) – it makes it easier to write the credits later
– the hair, makeup, and nail arts for each outfit
– some poses that will convey the storyline

dark beauty magazine issue 26 angelica brigade jewelry angelicabrigade accessories miu vermillion miuvermillion stylist efrenbeltran photography efren beltran photographer alexisfarmer alexis farmer model namihasegawa hair stylist nami hasegawa yocowakasugi nail art yoco wakasugi joyz katuari creative director joyzkatuari

I let the team know what I want to accomplish and let them to do their thing and improve my ideas. All of them are amazing to work with, and I hope I can work with them again someday.

dark beauty magazine issue 26 angelica brigade jewelry angelicabrigade accessories miu vermillion miuvermillion stylist efrenbeltran photography efren beltran photographer alexisfarmer alexis farmer model namihasegawa hair stylist nami hasegawa yocowakasugi nail art yoco wakasugi joyz katuari creative director joyzkatuari

~ 0 o 0 ~

I’m currently writing several Christmas-themed DIY accessories & ornaments. They should be up (here, on my blog) by early December.

Next week: Mindblowingly gorgeous private beach in Southern California … a 1960s-Balenciaga-inspired dress I impulsively made from scratch within 12 hours … rad manicure rings … my almost-unbelievable new ventures.

Subscribe, or check back in a few days (-:

1003851_10151802355619014_540690110_n

-joyce (a.k.a. Miu Vermillion)

*I’ve been trying to be as paperless as possible for a while now. And a few months ago, I ditched my iPad2 for a Kindle Fire HD 8.9″. I got 32GB wi-fi only version without the special offer discount. I love the Onyx Black standing leather case. It does its job and it looks nice. (Btw, I often use its inside front flap to take my work-in-progress photo)

Full disclosure: I am an Amazon.com affiliate. I've been an Amazon.com customer since '96. To be honest, I don't know what my life would be without Amazon . . .
Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: [[ Select Press ]] – updated in Jan 12, 2014 | Angelica Brigade - January 12, 2014

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,496 other followers

