//
you're reading...
some thoughts ...

Independent Designers + Social Media

Do you want to know that a total stranger is planning to go to a grocery store to buy some paper towels, grab a burger for lunch, clean his or her house, and watch tv?

Well, I don’t.

Do you like reading about things you aren’t interested about?

Of course not, right?! 

I started blogging because many books and articles written for independent designers and handmade artists say that it’s something people like me should do . . . because it’s a good way for our future customers to get to know us, and because it’s important for us to develop an online presence.

The books and articles also say that we should blog about simple, happy, lighthearted stuffs . . . and, for every post we write about our designs, we should write 4 articles about things that aren’t related to our designs . . .

Like most people, I have more than one hobby/interest . . . but; I’m not sure that many people are interested in all of the things I’m interested in. Some people who follow my blog upon reading my posts about 3D printing might not care about the other topics I write about (e.g. beading, chainmaille jewelry-making, or social-media marketing for a handmade sellers).

Those posts can tell you a lot about me and how I handle things; but, if those articles aren’t relevant to you, you wouldn’t want to read it. And I won’t blame you.

A lot of business articles also mention that – to increase the traffic to our blogs &/or websites –  we should:

  • Write thoughtful comments on other people’s blogs
  • Post one picture on Instagram per 3 or 4 hours
  • Write one pithy comment or re-tweet an interesting thing on Twitter per several hours, and
  • Post or share something interesting on our Facebook Page a few times a day as well.

After a while it starts to feel like a the popularity game . . .

Finding interesting things to share on social media, writing thoughtful and interesting comments, and hunting for things we can photograph and share on Instagram might make us so busy that we forget that we aren’t doing of those things just to get more “likes” and “shares” . . . and, lots of “likes” and “shares” do not always lead to more sales . . . and the people who “like” and “share” our photos might never become our customers because the things we offer are not relevant to their lives. Some people might like our pictures and like us as a person, but they might never need the pieces or artwork we create . . .

I’m not saying that we don’t need to develop and maintain our online presences . . .
I’m just saying that we should never forget the main reason we blog and share pictures & links on social media
And, that what we share on social media matter.

I don’t follow very many people on Instagram.
As a matter of fact, I don’t follow my favorite artists’ Instagram feed . . .
The only people I follow on Instagram are my friends and a handful artists whose posts never fail to inspire me.

Why?

If I do follow hundreds of people on Instagram, I might never see some Instagram feeds I really want to see because I will need to spot them while scrolling through numerous pictures of food, sky, coffee cups, etc .

I’m not very interested in what my favorite artists have for breakfast/lunch/dinner. However, I’d love to see their working methods/processes, their studios, their current and upcoming projects, the things they do to increase their skills, and may be just a few glimpses of their daily lives.

There are some artists who do not post 4 other things per 1 post they write about their own works . . .
Do I follow their blogs and Instagram feed?
Absolutely!!!

If I’m a big fan of their works, I’d love to learn more about their works . . .
(And see their other works)

How about artists who post numerous pictures of their pets, and random stuffs and just a handful photos of their works?
Usually, I just Google them or visit their Instagram feed every once in a while . . .

How about you?

-joyce

Discussion

One thought on “Independent Designers + Social Media

  1. I swear you are my soul-sister, I have these thoughts and have read all the instructional blogs and articles for increasing your presence as an artist, and through it all I find it very daunting. I understand we live in a day and age where social media provides consumers a closer look into the companies or sole proprietors who create products, but I honestly feel like that takes away from the product itself because the attention is shifted away from the product of potential interest. I too have spent many hours blogging, tweeting, instagramming, facebooking etc. etc. not in search of likes or retrweets, trying to boost my social presence and during all of this time I have lost time I can’t get back that would have been better spent mastering my craft for better products. It’s very frustrating especially because I feel compelled to continue to attempt to work on my social presence even though I feel it takes away from my artistry, but there’s still that what if factor…that it just might work.

    Posted by jurneyjurray | August 19, 2013, 7:11 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,498 other followers

