//
you're reading...
Maille, Update

Jewelry-Making: Sabine Lippert’s Beaded Fantasies + Beaded Chainmaille Bracelets

If you are a fellow jewelry-maker or love to create jewelry for fun, you’ll love (and learn a lot from) this beadweaving book: Sabine Lippert’s Beaded Fantasies.

I LOVE her designs!!! The nice clean lines, the dramatic style, & the fact that all of the designs are three-dimensional (not flat!!!).

Beaded Fantasies by Sabine Lippert beadweaving lark publishing book jewelry jewellery making handmade accessories beads seed bead

I love this book because many of the techniques I learned from it can be adapted & combined with other techniques. That way, I can use & adapt those techniques to create my own original designs.

Some of the materials needed to create some of the designs are a little difficult to find. But, the rest of the jewelry-making instructions are so superb that I don’t care I can’t learn to make some of the beautiful pieces.

I know that this book is not written specifically for beginners. But . . . though I’ve never done any beadweaving before, I could follow the instructions just fine. The instructions are jargon-free & written without the assumption that the readers are familiar with basic beadweaving techniques. (Unlike many crochet & knitting books. Oh, gosh!!! To me, many of them look like they are filled with encrypted messages. That’s why – till this day – I still can crochet & knit to save my life).

Anyway, I never let my “experience/expertise level” limit me. I learn to create whatever piece I want to make (i.e. The first three chainmaille weaves I learned are: Box Weave, Byzantine Weave, & Dragonscale Weave. Yes, I learned to do Dragonscale Weave before I learned to do the basic European 4-in-1 weave). It usually takes me a while to get everything just right; but, it’s much better this way because:

  • As I play around with it / try to fit everything together, I get to understand the basic mechanic or construction of the piece
  • And, I will be able to create the piece within hours (or – sometimes – a few days) instead of a few months or years.

Who cares if I haven’t mastered (for example) European 4-in-1 Weave & some other basic weaves while I was making a Dragonscale Chainmaille bracelet. I don’t need to. On the other hand, I was dying to own/learn/make a Dragonscale Chainmaille bracelet, so I did. I got myself the best instruction/tutorial I could find and dedicated my time to create that bracelet. It wasn’t easy, but it was worth the effort.

Anyway, I learned to make my first European 6-in-1 chainmaille bracelet only about 3 weeks ago as I was trying to create a bunch of one-of-a-kind beaded chainmaille bracelets like this one.

angelica brigade angelicabrigade handmade beaded chainmaille bracelet cuff chain maille jewelry chainmail jewellery beadweaving swarovski ornella preciosa czech fire polished beads japanese seed beads blue buddha boutique jump rings

I beaded the piece at random using whatever beads I happened to own.

To find the best place for me to stitch the beads,  I held them on my hand and moved them here & there till I thought that they’ll look good on particular spot(s) before I stitched them onto the bracelet.

I used Spiderwire and Fireline beading threads to stitch the beads on. Both of them are superbly strong.

angelica brigade angelicabrigade handmade beaded chainmaille bracelet cuff chain maille jewelry chainmail jewellery beadweaving swarovski ornella preciosa czech fire polished beads japanese seed beads blue buddha boutique jump rings

Till next week!

Have a wonderful weekend~

-joyz*k of AngelicaBrigade

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,498 other followers

