//
you're reading...
Handmade jewelry

Using Jewelry Making Kits to Learn New Techniques & Escape a Creative Rut

Update (04/17/2916): Blue Buddha Boutique is closing its door permanently. The link to their website (below) is no longer active.

Once in a while,  I make  several pieces of jewelry that look nothing like the things I usually make (my original designs)

Today, I made this dainty necklace using one of the jewelry-making kits I purchased in Japan a few months ago.

jump rings chain magatama beads

The kit is designed & produced by BeadsFactory, a division of the company that creates Miyuki Beads

I purchased it from ABC Craft – one of my favorite shops in Osaka :D

Anyway~~~

This piece isn’t exactly a chainmaille jewelry, but its focal points are created by interlinking numerous jump rings

jump rings magatama beads chain

Due to possible copyright issue, I can’t scan the whole instruction for you. But, I can share some of the new things I learned by making this piece with you [in a few weeks] by writing a tutorial on my re-interpretation or a variation of this piece.

My Japanese isn’t very good but the instruction is easy to follow.

The only thing I’m not happy about is that they don’t label the items they include in the kit.

This kit happens to contain no more than 9 different components; so it wasn’t bad. But, there are a few kits that contain more than 25 different unlabelled components. They drive me a little nuts because it usually takes me a while to figure out which piece is which, for example: which beads are antique black, matte navy blue, very dark gray, and so on . . . Especially because it turned out that the color they call Antique Black is actually very shinny [LOL!!!] Oh, gosh~ I had to ask 3 different people to help me to figure out which color was which :D

(We figured out which color is called Antique Black by elimination method)

But … in the end, they usually worth the effort.

Making things that are radically different from my own designs gets me out of my comfort zone.

Plus, through the process, I usually learn something new either by using some materials I never used before, using color combinations I never imagined before, or constructing things using the techniques I haven’t mastered just yet.

I prefer to buy jewelry-making kits than jewelry-making books. One of the reasons is: There are times when I cannot find some of the materials I’ll need to create some of the projects shown/written in the books, or … when I can find them, I have to buy them in the amounts that are waaayyyyy beyond what I need (i.e. one box per color instead of 20 pcs of each). In the end, I might end up with numerous boxes of beads I will never use. They will just clutter my work space & gather dust. What a waste~

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

P.S. Want to learn to create chainmaille jewelry? You might want to start by using Blue Buddha Boutique’s kits. Get a chance to win a Shaggy Loops Bracelet kit [please read my giveaway blog post for more details. The contest is open to everyone, no matter where you currently live. But, hurry~ The contest ends tonight (November 23,2012).

Also, get a chance to win an All-in-One, Easy Start to Chainmaille Pack via this link >>> http://www.bluebuddhaboutique.com/blog/2012/11/chainmaille-starter-packs-blog-hop-giveaway The deadline to enter is November 28, 2012.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,498 other followers

