//
you're reading...
Handmade jewelry, Maille

“Experimenting with colors” + “And what I love about chainmailling”

Update (04/17/2916): Blue Buddha Boutique is closing its door permanently. The link to their website (below) is no longer active.

Beaded Gridlock Byzantine Weave Invented by Rebeca Mojica Blue Buddha Boutique pdf Tutorial Handmade Chain Maille Bracelet Chainmaille Jewelry Chainmail Jewelry in Antique Gold Pastel Colors Unusual Colours Robbin Egg Blue Steampunk Brown Raspberry Hot Pink Blush Beige made by Angelica Brigade joyz*k Available in AngelicaBrigade Etsy Shop

Beaded Gridlock Byzantine Weave Invented by Rebeca Mojica Blue Buddha Boutique pdf Tutorial Handmade Chain Maille Bracelet Chainmaille Jewelry Chainmail Jewelry in Antique Gold Pastel Colors Unusual Colours Robbin Egg Blue Steampunk Brown Raspberry Hot Pink Blush Beige made by Angelica Brigade joyz*k Available in AngelicaBrigade Etsy Shop

Beaded Gridlock Byzantine Weave Invented by Rebeca Mojica Blue Buddha Boutique pdf Tutorial Handmade Chain Maille Bracelet Chainmaille Jewelry Chainmail Jewelry in Antique Gold Pastel Colors Unusual Colours Robbin Egg Blue Steampunk Brown Raspberry Hot Pink Blush Beige made by Angelica Brigade joyz*k Available in AngelicaBrigade Etsy Shop

I’ve been making these bracelets in SO many different colors these days (12 colors & counting!).

The chain maille weave is called Beaded Gridlock Byzantine. It’s invented by Rebeca Mojica, and a pdf tutorial of it is available in http://www.bluebuddhaboutique.com/b3/projects/Beaded-Gridlock-Byzantine

As I said in my previous posts, I make new chainmaille jewelry any chance I get. In fact, there are days when I chainmaille for 18 hours a day … Sounds a bit manic, doesn’t it? But, a piece like this necklace (below) takes more than 50 hours to create … And once I start creating something, only extreme exhaustion, previous commitments, & natural disasters can make me to take a break from completing the piece.

But, it’s more than just a compulsion. It’s the joy of creating beautiful things, of bringing them into the world, is what keep me going.

Many chainmaillers find chainmailling therapeutic. Many of them say that chainmailling help them to relax. Some of them compare it to knitting … how the rhythmic & repetitive movements calm them down etc etc … things that are akin to the things described/explained by this online article >>> http://www.knitonthenet.com/issue4/features/therapeuticknitting/

I, on the other hand, am not too crazy about anything too repetitive. So, I tend to keep my mind occupied when I chainmaille: I either chat with my friends or family or listen to audiobooks. There are a few classics (e.g. Jane Austen, Thackeray) that I re-listen every once in a while. But, more often than not, I listen to the latest legal thrillers, police procedurals, detective stories, & several different offbeat stories :D

Anyway, it doesn’t mean that I don’t LOVE creating chainmaille jewelry.

As a matter of fact, I’ve tried several other jewelry-making techniques … but I decided to stick with chainmailling.

Why?

  1. It does not require me to use any toxic chemicals, dangerous equipments, dyes, & fixatives. And, since I prefer to use professionally made jump rings, I don’t need to cut & toss things away. So, it’s almost completely mess-free!!!
  2. Chainmaille jewelry aren’t difficult to alterresize. If I happen to dislike an aspect of my design, I don’t need to start over. [Unlike, for example, metal casting, soldering, & wire-wrapping] I can easily remove/extend/shorten/etc the part I don’t like and it won’t take me forever to do it.
  3. If I make some pieces I don’t like, I don’t need to throw them away. I can reuse their parts to create my next jewelry samples . (Less waste).
  4. I prefer my jewelry bold, chunky, sturdy, but not too uncomfortable to wear.This bold, dramatic, & chunky anodized aluminum chainmaille bracelet below, for example, is lighter than 2 tablespoons of sugar. No other materials & jewelry-making techniques can give me similar results.

    AngelicaBrigade Angelica Brigade Handmade Jewellery Handmade Chainmail Jewelry ChainMaille Bracelet Chain Maille in Gold Blue Buddha Boutique Anodized Aluminum Jump Rings Jet AB Swarovski crystal bead hammered pewter toggle clasp handmade by joyz*k a.k.a. Miu Vermillion or k_joyz indie designer independent designer chainmailler

    Lighter than 2 tablespoons of sugar

~0o0~

Beaded Gridlock Byzantine Weave Invented by Rebeca Mojica Blue Buddha Boutique pdf Tutorial Handmade Chain Maille Bracelet Chainmaille Jewelry Chainmail Jewelry in Antique Gold Pastel Colors Unusual Colours Robbin Egg Blue Steampunk Brown Raspberry Hot Pink Blush Beige made by Angelica Brigade joyz*k Available in AngelicaBrigade Etsy Shop

These beaded gridlock byzantine bracelets, however, are made using (naturally distressed – with lemon juice & sea salt solution)  jewelry brass.

The metal contains some copper, so it’s not as hypoallergenic as my other bracelets, and approximately 3 times heavier.

~0o0~

I currently am preparing some exciting chainmaille jewelry tutorials, all of them can be completed within 1 hour or less, even by beginners.I will post some of those tutorials next Friday (November 16, 2012), the same day I will hold that chainmail jewelry-making kit giveaway. The winner will be selected at random and will receive the kit from Blue Buddha Boutique.

This month, I will blog every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. So, see you guys [here, in this blog] very soon~

@k_joyz of AngelicaBrigade

*** UPDATE: Get a chance to WIN a jewelry-making kit or an All-in-One ChainMaille Starter Pack.  For more details, please read this blog post >>> https://angelicabrigade.wordpress.com/2012/11/16/the-best-way-to-start-learning-to-create-chain-maille-jewelry-giveaway/

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,496 other followers

