//
you're reading...
Life & Style

My Nail Color of the Week

Ever since I started my handmade business last year, decorating my nails with crystals & tiny pearls is no longer an option

Working with metals, dyes, & fixatives tend to ruin sculptural nail arts, and I don’t have enough time to fix my nails everytime a crystal pops out / a mini pearl got stained / a glob of hot-melt glue ruin my nail(s) / etc. Plus,  removing sculptural nail arts can be 3-5 (or more) times longer than removing (regular) painted nails.

Plus, as I mentioned in my previous blog post, my overworked hands look a lot redder than it used to. So, I also need to stick to cool hues as well. For quite a long time, I’ve been painting my nails either silver or various shades of cool gray … but, this week, I decided to go with Eggplant Purple:

Angelica Brigade AngelicaBrigade Zoya Nail Polish Pinta Professional Lacquer Nail Color Eggplant Purple Fall Autumn Photo by @k_joyz of Angelica Brigade

It’s Pinta by Zoya Natural Nail Polish

Angelica Brigade AngelicaBrigade Zoya Nail Polish Pinta Professional Lacquer Nail Color

As usual, I put one layer of Nailtiques Formula 2 as base coat. After that, I put 2 layers of the same nail protein as top coats. The nail protein makes my nails look super shiny, as if they are made out of plastic (just the way I like them). Plus, it makes my nail lacquer last longer.

Angelica Brigade AngelicaBrigade Nailtiques Nail Protein Formula 2 photo by @k_joyz joyz*k of Angelica Brigade

There is one more nail product I rely on:  Lippman Collection‘s Intensive Nail Treatment.

Angelica Brigade AngelicaBrigade Deborah Lippman Intensive Nail Treatment photo by joyz*k @k_joyz of @AngelicaBrigade

It moisturizes my nails, keeps my nails strong, removes my cuticles, and helps me to shape my proximal nail folds.

What the heck is proximal nail folds?

This picture is going to answer that question:

In my opinion, no nails (& nail arts) can ever look good if the proximal nail folds are not well-shaped and the cuticles are not removed.

That said, here’s a very old picture (taken in 2007) of one of my old nail art …

I think I’ve moved on …

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,498 other followers

