//
you're reading...
Great Reads, Small Business

POSITIVE THINKING can be BAD for you!!!

Yes, you read that right.

And no, it is not a typing mistake.

Positive thinking can actually be bad for you.

~0o0~

Positive thinking sets you up to fail: http://www.fastcompany.com/1768515/how-positive-thinking-sets-you-fail

Positive thinking can be bad for business: http://www.openforum.com/articles/can-positive-thinking-be-bad-for-business

Positive fantasies about idealized futures sap energy: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S002210311100031X

Visualizing our goals as already achieved can backfire while picturing  obstacles actually helps: http://99u.com/articles/7232/The-Power-of-Negative-Thinking

~0o0~

May I also add that:

Visualizing your goals as already achieved makes you feel good but unless you come up with a list of effective ways to achieve those goals, you will never achieve them.

Also …

Some goals are plain impossible to achieve.

Harsh?

No …

Honestly. I can never be a world famous opera singer, great NBA player, the next Leonardo da Vinci, or the person who invents pills that can cure cancer … and no amount of visualization & positive reaffirmation can bring me closer to those achievements.

Why? I simply don’t have the potential. My voice is more suited for rock songs. I am not very athletic. I’m not scientifically inclined & never took enough science classes to formulate any new scientific idea and now I’m too busy with my job, second job, & family responsibilities to learn any college level Chemistry. You get the idea.

Also, some things are thoroughly unchangeable & no amount of trying will ever make any difference. E.g. I can’t change my voice, height, and the way my brain is wired.

&

I can’t get closer to my goal unless I actually do some things that are conducive to achieving those goals: E.g. Taking science classes, learning how to be a better learner, and learning the things I need to know so I can formulate those those pills.

0o0~

Thoughts? Comments? Arguments?

Feel free to leave me a comment . . .

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,498 other followers

