//
you're reading...
Life & Style

Ciate Velvet Manicure – Day 2

Did you read my post about Ciate Velvet Manicure yesterday?

If not, here’s the link to the post: https://angelicabrigade.wordpress.com/2012/08/16/ciate-velvet-manicure-review/

And …

Here are the pictures I promised to upload:

Ciate Velvet Manicure Review Day 2

Ciate Velvet Manicure Review Day 2

The manicure gives my nail the look and feel of real velvet …

The manicure also has the characteristic of real velvet. I don’t know the best way to describe it, but if you ever wash velvet &/or velour clothing items, you’ll know what I mean. The way velvet & velour look when they are wet is the way my nails look after I wash my hands … and they way the velvet & velour fabrics become after you dry them is the way my nails look a few minutes after I dry my hands …

And when I accidentally stained my manicure with my eyeliner, I found the stain completely washable.

~ 0 o 0 ~

Anyway,

A few hours after I wrote my review, I decided to find out what other people write about the manicure kit.

I was really surprised that some other reviewers say that the manicure doesn’t last very long and took more than 20 minutes to dry. (I’m not going to name any names, but I’m sure you’ll find those reviews if you google “Ciate Velvet Manicure Review”)

I’ve washed my hands numerous times since the last time I wrote my previous post (yesterday). The texture of the velvet coating became less fluffy, but my nails still look and feel as if they are covered with velvet.

My guess is:

1. They put too much nail polish (labelled “paint pot”) onto their nails while I only put two THIN layers of the “paint”

2. They did not put as much “crushed velvet” onto their still wet nails as I did. I literally piled the crushed velvet onto my nails and left the pile on top of my nails for a minute or so before I (softly) brush the crushed velvet off. It look less than 5 minutes for the manicure to dry (but perhaps it’s because I – currently – am located in California this summer, and the humidity level is very low).

~0o0~

So, the verdict is …

Even if it’s not my #1 favorite, I love the manicure kit!

I’m thinking about using it again when I’m attending a special event & pairing it with a patent leather clutch … imagine the color & texture contrast~~~

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Ciate Velvet Manicure – Day 2

  1. Reblogged this on r4punz3ll3.

    Posted by r4punz3ll3 | August 18, 2012, 10:06 am
  2. The velvet manicure is awesome but Ciate wasn’t the first to come up with it. It has been around for awhile and you can get it for a fraction of the cost that they are charging. Just go to a craft store and get Flocking powder. Here is my DIY video showing how to DIY. Velvet Manicure Tutorial.

    Love

    ~Jocelyn (Nail Artist @ Polishpedia)

    Posted by polishpedia | August 22, 2012, 7:24 am
  3. Hi, Jocelyn.

    Thanks for your input. It makes sense. After all, the process is not unlike when fabric manufacturers create flocked fabrics.

    Well, I’ve already purchased the Ciate manicure kit (and it will last me a while) and I’m loving it (the color, the texture, the fact that it’s so easy to remove). Thanks for the tip, though. I’m sure many people (especially those people who are into DIY) will find it helpful.

    -joyce of Angelica Brigade

    Posted by r4punz3ll3 | August 22, 2012, 8:57 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,496 other followers

