//
you're reading...
Maille, Our Philosophies & Methodologies, Work in Progress, Working Process

.:: talent is overrated ::. my design process .:: a day in life ::.

angelica brigade joyz*k joyz indie designer at work dalent is overrated a day in life chainmaille chain maille sample making prototype

Thousands of jump rings in various sizes strewn all over the table

Along with ribbons, Swarovski crystal pearls, strips of fabrics, metal findings

I know I’d been sitting here for hours

Using 3 different sets of pliers, I’ve been weaving the jump rings, taking them apart, changing the sizes of the jump rings I used, re-arranging the placements and the length of the chain, crystal pearls, and the ribbons . . . and I’m not even half done.

Out of sudden I felt lightheaded. My hands started to shake . . .

It was then when I realized that it was 7 pm, that I had been working for 10 hours, and that I had not eaten anything all day . . .

Quickly, I decided to whip something up really quick before things get even worse

And when I was waiting for the water to boil . . . I couldn’t stop myself from thinking out ways to improve the necklaces I’m creating today.

It’s not uncommon for me to keep on working till very early in the morning . . .

And the moment I wake up, after I have my morning coffee (with lots of rice milk & cocoa powder), I usually go right back to work

Yes, I know that it’s not a very healthy lifestyle. It’s not a lifestyle I’d recommend to anyone else. I also know that it’s in my best interest to live a more balanced life . . . But, at this moment, there is nothing I can do about it.

There are a few plans in the works and I’m on deadline . . . But it’s another story for another day :)

Many people told me how lucky I am that I find something I’m passionate about and how fun it must be creating all these jewelry and headpieces. If they actually see the kind of life I lead, will they still think so?

All these fumes I inhale and all these ash that I need to clean up whenever I create silk floral headpieces / hair fascinator

Once in a while I accidentally stab my fingers with a needle and burn my fingers

And then, there are these natural byproducts of one’s decision to stay seated on the same spot while doing the things that require one’s close attention to detail: back pain, neck pain, dry eyes

There are times when I get stuck and no matter how much I try the pieces either don’t fit together and do not look the way I envision them to be. It can be very frustrating.

Yet, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I am driven by this impulse to create. Plus, the satisfaction that comes with the completion of each project is incomparable.

angelica brigade angelicabrigade avant garde contemporary chainmaille chain maille chainmail jewelry jewellery handmade swarovski fancy stone oversized lightweight unusual unique http://www.angelica-brigade.com indie designer angelica brigade angelicabrigade handmade lightweight headpiece silk organza floral clip oversized huge big large extravagant gothic lolita avant garde hair accessory accessories etsy indie designer joyz*k joyz http://www.angelica-brigade.com Chain Maille Chainmaille Chainmail Jewelry Jewellery Bracelet Handmade AngelicaBrigade Angelica Brigade angelicabrigade angelica brigade avant garde handmade headpiece swarovski indie designer joyz*k joyz http://www.angelica-brigade.com hair fascinator hair accessories accessory red floral rose silk organza http://www.angelica-brigade.com

It’s uncommon for me to work longer than 14 hours per day

And … because of that, there are moments when I feel that talent is overrated. It’s the hours I spend doing, re-doing, fixing, and improving my works are the reasons I acquire these skills

Have you read or read about Geoffrey Colvin’s book Talent is Overrated: What Really Separates World-Class Performers from Everybody Else ?

How about Malcolm Gladwells’ “Outliers” ?

Here are some good summaries of the books’ arguments:

– Why talent is overrated http://money.cnn.com/2008/10/21/magazines/fortune/talent_colvin.fortune/index.htm

– Malcolm Gladwell – Outliers: http://wiki.dandascalescu.com/summaries/Malcolm_Gladwell_-_Outliers

It takes about 10,000 hours for people to start to be really good ad something

True, I one of the reasons I like to create chainmaille jewelry is because it comes very naturally to me. If I happen not to be not good at it or if I happen to dislike doing it, I would never spend so many hours practicing, learning new weaves, and designing my own chainmaille jewelry. So, perhaps, passion and natural aptitude are parts of the mix … but if I never spend those hours making numerous pieces of chainmaille jewelry and fabric accessories,  experimenting with new materials and techniques, and trying to figure out how I can make a better piece next time … I would not be able to make the things I am able to make today.

If I don’t spend enough time re-working this piece, this headpiece will still look the way the 1st version looks like …

283735_10150916440959014_1498896324_n

angelica brigade angelicabrigade handmade egl elegant gothic lolita hair accessory accessories headdress headpiece head piece hair fascinator black handmade indie designer avant garde unusual etsy joyz*k http://www.angelica-brigade.com

And, here is how the latest version looks like:

angelica brigade angelicabrigade handmade egl elegant gothic lolita hair accessory accessories headdress headpiece head piece hair fascinator black handmade indie designer avant garde unusual etsy joyz*k http://www.angelica-brigade.com

There are still a lot of rooms for me to improve. There are a lot of techniques I want to learn and incorporate.

Alas …  I’m not a super human and I do need to have some rest from time to time … How I wish there are more hours in a day

Anyway, look at the time!

I need to go back to work. I’m trying to finish creating these 2 new necklaces today. I will upload their pictures in a few days.

-joyz*k of AngelicaBrigade

Questions? Comments? Feel free to contact me via Facebook or Twitter

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,496 other followers

