//
you're reading...
Handmade jewelry, Maille, Our Philosophies & Methodologies, Tutorials

WHY the QUALITY of the jump rings we use to create our chain maille jewelry MATTERS

Update (04/17/2916): Blue Buddha Boutique is closing its door permanently. The link to their website (below) is no longer active.
Before, Burr Cut Jump Rings

Then: A chainmaille necklace I made using homemade jump rings.

After, High Quality Jump Rings, Angelica Brigade Knott Necklace

Now: A chainmaille necklace I made using high quality saw cut jump rings.

I used to make my own jump rings by coiling a length of jewelry wire on a knitting needle and then cutting them with my flush cutters.( For a tutorial on how to make your own jump rings, please visit https://angelicabrigade.wordpress.com/2012/11/09/how-to-make-your-own-jump-rings/ )

The necklaces I used to create were not too bad, but I wouldn’t call them jewelry. Handmade accessories perhaps, but not jewelry. Take a look at this piece (the very first chainmaille necklace I’d ever created):

It looks good enough from afar; but, if you look at it closely, you can see that it does not look so pretty.

Contemporary Chain Maille Necklace with a Large Swarovski Crystal Centerpiece, US$60 Made to order. http://www.etsy.com/listing/89827486/contemporary-chain-maille-necklace-with An original design by joyz*k of Angelica Brigade http://www.etsy.com/listing/89827486/

When the edges of the jump rings aren’t neatly cut, no matter how well we close the rings, the end result would never look very professional.The quality of my work began to change the moment I decided to use high quality jump rings.

I buy most (more than 95%) of the jump rings I use from Blue Buddha Boutique (B3). [I’m not paid to write this blog post. I don’t work for the company either. I’m just a big fan of their jump rings & tutorials].

~0o0~

From time to time, I do order some jump rings from many different suppliers; but … none of them is as well made as B3’s.

< < < Now . . . if only B3 makes anodized aluminum jump rings in paler gold color . . . and may be antique gold color . . . . . . . . . . Because I really need them > > >

But they don’t . . . So, I decided to order such jump rings elsewhere. But . . . . . . . .

I don’t think I’m going to be able to use these jump rings after all.Take a look at this picture:

Here is a closer look at the jump rings I ordered elsewhere

Look at them . . .See how the jump rings are cut? Plus, none of them can lay flat on my table. None of them look the same, and many of them are not very round . . .
Very unlike the rings I got from B3 below:

See how neat their cuts are? And since these rings are colored/anodized after they are cut, all of the rings’ surface(s) are in one color.

So, even if one fails to close the rings nicely, the piece wouldn’t look too messy.

(As opposed to certain jump rings I see in Jo-Ann’s or Michaels … and any homemade jump rings, please check the picture below)

So,

Here is the piece I made using the jump rings I recently bought from a different supplier

I can’t bear how messy it looks …

(I might be need to shelf this project till I find a way to make B3’s gold-colored anodized aluminum rings less bright-yellow-gold. I’m thinking about using Greased Lightning Degreaser . . . because I tried to make those rings look more rustic by brushing them with barbecue grill brush and it didn’t work)

. . .

And  . . . for a comparison, here is the one I made using B3’s niobium rings

. . . . . . .

What do you think?

-joyz*k of Angelica Brigade

[ This blog post is a part of my Intro to ChainMaille Jewelry Making series ]

Discussion

One thought on “WHY the QUALITY of the jump rings we use to create our chain maille jewelry MATTERS

  1. quality + skill = best possible result; you can’t skimp or it will show in your work

    Posted by VonVonne | May 7, 2013, 12:37 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,495 other followers

