//
you're reading...
Working Process

Silk Dahlia #001 — additional information

When I was blogging about my first dahlia last week, I was merely documenting my processes …

Since, now, it is featured as a tutorial, I feel the need to add a few additional information to make the step-by step process clearer

First …

Treat the fabric (I was using silk organza) with PVA glue.

I did it by diluting PVA glue (30%) with water (70%). I covered my workspace with canvas tarp to keep my workspace clean (but you can use large garbage bag(s), used dry-cleaners’ plastic garment bag, or anything else that will do the job)

Using a foam brush (I got mine from Home Depot), I covered one side of the fabric (as evenly as possible) with the diluted PVA solution.  I waited for a few minutes before I flipped the fabric over and covered the other side of the fabric with the same diluted PVA solution. Then, I hanged the fabric for a few hours until it’s completely dry. We know that it’s completely dry when the fabric becomes very stiff.

In the meantime, you can make the patterns for petals

I used 8 different sizes of petals … I started with the smallest biggest first. Once I determined the biggest petal size I’d like for the silk flower I made, I made the next (smaller) petal size by trimming 1/8″ (all around) the previous (bigger) petal (so,the pattern is 1/4″ less wide and 1/4″ less tall than the previous one). Repeat the process until you get 8 different petal sizes. I numbered the smallest petal #1 and the biggest petal #8

(In this picture, I covered my pattern pieces with several layers of acrylic gel because I usually cut the fabric directly while holding the pattern pieces and do not like it when the edges of the patterns I use are curling or become uneven)

When the PVA-treated fabric is ready (in other words, completely dry), cu tthe following number of petals

  • Size 1: 15
  • Size 2: 10
  • Size 3: 12
  • Size 4: 15
  • Size 5: 15
  • Size 6: 15
  • Size 7: 22
  • Size 8: 26

I actually made some extra petals, just in case

Next …

I sealed the edges of the petals by burning the edges with candle flame. I used a small tealight candle. Please do not put the fabric in the flame. Instead, put it near the flame (about 1/2″ away  from the flame). Otherwise, the fabric might burn to a crisp. For the people who have not done this before, I recommend having a bowl of water in the vicinity, just in case … to extinguish the flame that might  otherwise cause a burn injury.

 Then …

You can follow the steps that are illustrated in my original post (https://angelicabrigade.wordpress.com/2011/10/24/silk-dahlia-001)

This is the first tutorial I’d ever write. I’ll write better ones next time.

Happy Halloweend

&

Have a great weekend …

-j

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,498 other followers

